SALINAS, Sept. 6, 2016 – Twenty-four individuals have been selected for Class 47 of the California Agricultural Leadership Program, an advanced leadership development experience for emerging agricultural leaders. The new fellows will be inaugurated into the program on Oct. 6 at the Clovis Veterans Memorial District.

Through dynamic seminars during an intensive 17-month program, fellows will study leadership theory, effective communication, motivation, critical and strategic thinking, change management, emotional intelligence and complex social and cultural issues.

Seminars are delivered by four partner universities: Cal Poly Pomona, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Fresno State and UC Davis. Fellows will participate in 55 seminar days, including an eight-day national travel seminar and a 15-day international travel seminar.

“We are extremely fortunate and grateful to have such knowledgeable Ag Leadership alumni participate in this selection process,” said Barry Bedwell, president of the California Agricultural Leadership Foundation (CALF). “By all indications and thanks to those efforts, Class 47 represents another outstanding example of individuals eager to further their leadership development so they can make a positive difference for California agriculture.”

CALF invests approximately $55,000 per fellow to participate in the program, which is underwritten by individual and industry donations. Ag Leadership is considered to be one of the premier leadership programs in the United States. Since it was first delivered in 1970, more than 1,200 men and women have participated in the program and have become influential leaders and active volunteers in the agriculture industry and other areas.

Class 47 Fellows:
Kevin Antongiovanni, Ten Star Farming Inc., Bakersfield
Tom Barrios, Barrios Farms Inc., Woodland
Jared Britschgi, Pearl Crop, Bakersfield
Casey Creamer, Kings River Conservation District, Fresno
Chris Drew, Ocean Mist, Castroville
Ted Grether, Grether Farming Co., Somis
Randi Gwilliam, Tulare Ag Products, Tulare
John Hay, Scribner Hay LLC, Bakersfield
Hans Herkert, Growers Ag Service, Yuba City
Stuart Hoetger, The Stogan Group, Chico
Nadav Ichaki, Nut Farmers LLC, Los Angeles
Tucker Knutz, Harris Feeding Company, Coalinga
Brad Koehn, Turlock Irrigation District, Turlock
Jenny Lester Moffitt, CA Department of Food and Ag, Sacramento
Hunter Lindemann, THL Enterprises, Gustine
John McKeon, Earthbound Farm, San Juan Bautista
Jason Miller, Miller Honey Farms, Newcastle
Darrin Monteiro, California Dairies Inc., Visalia
Matthew Patton, Elk Grove Unified School District, Elk Grove
Brad Reinhart, JG Boswell Company, Corcoran
Jill Scofield, California Beef Council, Sacramento
Matt Stornetta, La Prenda Vineyards, Sonoma
Douglas Thomas, Crown Nursery LLC, Red Bluff
Kiran Toor, Toor Farms, Yuba City

California Agricultural Leadership Foundation
P.O. Box 479 | Salinas, CA | 93902
831-585-1030 |
We grow leaders who make a difference.